Just do it

A Wednesday, @Campus

Day 3

“Just do it. I should just do it. I feel not like in the mood and do not want to, but I should. Guess I will do something.”

I was not doing a Shia LaBeouf “Just do it” session. I certainly didn’t have a green screen behind me.

Geeks or not. You must have heard of the chaos theory. Fair warning, I am not talking about the game, nor the album, nor the film. I am talking about the branch of mathematics that states that within the apparent randomness of chaotic systems, there are underlying patterns, repetitions, loops and sometimes a moment of order in a system sensitive to its initial conditions. If you are still not interested, ever heard the concept of the butterfly effect. It is derived from chaos theory.

I was introduced to the word procrastination when I was in eighth grade. It is not often that we find ourselves practising things that we were not aware had a particular name. Can I say that I had found myself procrastinating many times since then? I certainly didn’t know I was procrastinating before then.

Nature in a broader sense is the phenomena of the physical world collectively, including plants, animals, and the landscapes of the earth. It is one of the highly complex systems and it is nigh unpredictable. But even in its marvel and mystery, we sometimes see a sense of order to it. But I am not going to talk about the nature of the material world. I find the behavioural nature of each of us much more interesting. The question of what reasons our actions?

Nature can also be defined as the basic or inherent features, character, or qualities of something that was inborn or hereditary often influenced by the environment of its origin. This is why I wanted to talk about the chaos theory and nature of ours.

In essence, even nature, how random and chaotic it may seem when we consider the chaos theory has its own patterns, repetitions and moments of order.

The question that we have to consider is how many times we get stuck in these patterns and repetitions. Imagine bemoaning each day as boring, a repetitive cycle many often fall into. So according to chaos theory, our nature can be traced to time we were growing. So the question that now irks me is whether I can blame all my nature of procrastination on to it.

Today morning, I found myself a bit lazy and hesitant to hit the gym, I haven’t had a shred of physical exercise for some time and had promised some of my friends that I would go with them, but I was starting to feel the non-existent knick in my neck.

If I were to not go to the gym. I would probably fall into a cycle of blaming my upbringing or the bad decision from the past I make. A cycle with no resolution. Then the question would be as to how not to get stuck in a repetitive cycle of such or in some cases how to recognise the momentary order we find in the chaos we live so that the nature we adapt during these moments will define our nature forward.

The actions we take during these moments of order among the chaos of our life will identify our actions in the future. Then the question is what reason could spur us into action.

I was trying to motivate myself to just do it when I got invited to play football by some other friends. In the end, I played football.

Did I achieve a moment of order today?

Leave a Reply

